Anaxagology for June 2024

A Free Monthly(Ish) Newsletter From Award-Winning TV Writer, SFF Author, And Middle-Grade Novelist David Anaxagoras

Playing Catch-up

Oops.

I had managed to put out five newsletters in a row but dropped the ball after the New Year. I’ve been severely under the weather the last few months and am just now starting to feel my energy come back. Well, that’s why I hedge and call them “monthly-ish” Newsletters. Thanks for sticking with me. This month will be a brief catch-up, and then I think we’re ready to get back on track.

Gortimer Gibbon’s 10th Anniversary

I had to hoped to mark the tenth anniversary of the pilot episode of my show, Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street, with some sort of retrospective back in February. Sadly, that will have to wait—perhaps until next year, for the anniversary of the series proper.

The good news is that I’m currently investigating something interesting that is Gortimer-related, so perhaps there will be something fun to announce a little bit down the road.

Until then you can revisit the first episode free on YouTube, enjoy a video about the creation of the show that Amazon produced and then attempted to bury in a shallow grave, or even learn to play Gortimer’s theme song on piano.

I love knowing that people are still discovering, watching and remembering the show, like this Random Guy on the Internet.

Short Fiction

The old…

When last we spoke (January), my short story, “We Shall Not Be Bitter at the End of the World” had just been published in Lightspeed magazine. I’ve since received some great responses and it has become my most suggested story on the Nebula Awards Suggested Reading List. If you are SFWA, please consider recommending it so others can discover it.

If you are not SFWA, you can still access the SFWA Nebula Awards Suggested Reading List, which is provided as a public service to assist in discovery of the years’s most noteworthy fantasy and science fiction publications—everything from short stories to novels to game writing and more.

…and the new

While I was away, my latest short story, “Under a Star, Bright as Morning,” was published at Lightspeed magazine. Jo is giving birth to a New God and I’m sure everything will work out fine… This one’s a quickie at under 1,000-words. lf you enjoy it you can give it a recommend on the Nebula Reading List.

New Sales—More Fiction Coming Soon!

I’m also happy to announce:

I sold a flash fiction piece to Xanax Hamster, “All the Things We Can’t Outrun,” about kid witnessing the end of the world from the backseat of his car. If only his parents would drive faster…

And coming soon to Lightspeed is my fantasy flash “Three Birds That Came Out of Grayson Huff and a Bunch More That Fell from the Sky.”

Finally, the Thing I’m Most Excited About is, of course, the thing I can’t talk about yet. But—major sooper sekrit projekt coming soon! Watch this space for details.

Aaaaaand I think we’re all caught up, now. I’ll see you next month with something resembling a regular newsletter, I hope!

ICYMI

If you’re just joining the party, here’s a rundown of what I’ve been up to and where you can find my work.

I was a recently a guest on the Shining Moon podcast and discussed YA and middle grade speculative fiction.

My most recently published short fiction, “Under a Star, Bright as Morning” is currently free to read at Lightspeed. Visit my Bibliography for a full list of other short stories and other works. You can also check out my ISFDb page.

I wrote for Nickelodeon’s Glitch Techs, an animated sci-fi adventure about teens who hunt video game monsters that have broken out into the real world. I also created and co-executive produced Amazon Studio’s first live-action kids and family series, Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street, about three kids whose life is anything but normal. Visit my IMDb page.

Have Something to Say?

I’d love to hear from you. If you’re reading in your inbox, you can reply directly to this email, or comment publicly on the website. Say hi!

About this Newsletter

Anaxagology is a free monthly(ish) newsletter from TV writer, SFF author and novelist David Anaxagoras. Subscribe now! You can find more about Dave at his website, or follow him on Bluesky.

Reply

or to participate.